About Us

The Conservative Party

The Conservative Party is a large and complex organisation, representing and involving people with a diverse range of backgrounds, interests and concerns.  It is a broad church, which encourages open debate and accepts differences of opinion. What unites the Party are the core Conservative principals which provide our foundation.

Conservatives believe in less interference from the State - freedom for individuals, families, voluntary groups and businesses.

Conservative want to keep taxes low and set businesses free from red tape to help Britain compete in the global economy.

Conservatives stand for the rule of law and support for all members of our society.  We recognise our duty to protect the environment for future generations.

Conservatives want to safeguard the Union of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, maintain strong defence and uphold our right to national self-government.  We want to be in Europe but not run by Europe.


About the Seat

Sefton Central is to be a constituency represented in the House of Commons of the Parliament of the United Kingdom. It will elect one Member of Parliament (MP) by the first past the post system of election. The seat has been created during the Boundary Commission for England's review of constituencies.



The constituency replaces that of Crosby along with part of Knowsley North and Sefton East, which will both be abolished. The new constituency will cover Crosby, Formby and Maghull in the metropolitan borough of Sefton. The electoral wards in the new constituency as follows:


About the Association

  • Chairman: Mr Martyn P Barber
  • Deputy Chairman Political: Cllr Simon I Jamieson
  • Deputy Chairman Membership & Finance: Cllr Denise Dutton
  • Young Conservatives Chairman: Mr Tom Hughes
  • Honorary President: Mrs Joy Bailey
  • Vice Honorary Presidents: Mrs Angela Rankin, Mr John Rankin, Miss Pat Formby